Home  |  News  |  Tour  |  Charts  |  Board  |  Archive  |  Shop  |  Links  |  FAQ  |  Contact  

 Search Hercules News

Elton John and band performed At Apple Music Festival on September 18, 2016
Monday, September 19 2016

Elton delivered "a night of surprises" as the 2016 Apple Music Festival opened with aplomb in London.

Elton lived up to his reputation as a charismatic entertainer with extended arrangements and contemporary reworkings of his greatest hits, mixed with guest appearances and cover versions from emerging talent.

Opening with "The Bitch Is Back", "Philadelphia Freedom" and "I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues", Elton paused briefly between songs to take in the applause from all around the venue before inviting special guests to the stage to each perform two tracks.

He told the crowd at Camden's Roundhouse: "It's going to be a night of surprises. Tonight we decided I wanted to do a show that Incorporates some of the artists I've found through Apple Music Radio. They don't get played on mainstream radio because mainstream radio mostly plays all crap."

First up was songstress Rosie Lowe, from Exeter in Devon, before LA soulman Gallant was welcomed to the stage. Oklahoma-based folk musician Parker Millsap helped perform "Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me", a duet previously sung with George Michael, before French singer-songwriter Christine and the Queens produced a fully choreographed rendition of her radio hit "Tilted".

Punters reached for their mobiles as the lights dimmed for a rousing singalong of "Your Song", one of the best-known titles in Elton's extensive repertoire, while evergreen favourites "Rocket Man" and "Tiny Dancer" also featured.

Elton wore a black and red sparkly Beefeater-style ensemble as he romped his way through a hit-packed set lasting nearly two hours, supported by a full band including long-time collaborators Davey Johnstone and Ray Cooper. He was joined again by his guest performers for encore "Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting".

However, scores of punters were left queueing outside the north London venue as the show began, with staff confirming they were suffering "teething problems". The venue, which holds around 1,570 people, will also play host to acts including pop star Britney Spears, former Take That singer Robbie Williams, and DJ Calvin Harris during the festival's run. The full line-up - marking the event's 10th anniversary, having previously been known as the iTunes Festival - also features Alicia Keys, Bastille, Chance the Rapper, Michael Buble, OneRepublic and Monday's headliners The 1975.

The Roundhouse was filled with fans who applied for free tickets, while all 10 shows are being made available live on the internet to Apple Music members.

Following is the complete set list of the Apple Music Festival show on September 18, 2016:

  1. The Bitch is Back
  2. Philadelphia Freedom
  3. I Guess That's Why They Call It the Blues
  4. Woman (with Rosie Lowe)
  5. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (with Rosie Lowe)
  6. Looking Up
  7. A Good Heart
  8. Weight in Gold (with Gallant)
  9. Bennie and the Jets (with Gallant)
  10. Your Song
  11. Levon
  12. The Very Last Day (with Parker Millsap)
  13. Don't Let the Sun Go Down On Me (with Parker Millsap)
  14. Sad Songs (Say So Much)
  15. Rocket Man
  16. Tilted (with Christine and The Queens)
  17. Tiny Dancer (with Christine and The Queens)
  18. All the Young Girls Love Alice
  19. Crocodile Rock
  20. Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting (with Rosie Lowe, Gallant, Parker Millsap and Christine and The Queens)

Back to Headlines

© 1997-2017 by HERCULES International. Hercules is not affiliated with Elton John`s management or the Elton John Aids Foundation.  
Please note that this site has been discontinued on March 31, 2017 and will not be updated anymore.